In S3 and S3 Compatible cloud datastorages with the data versioning mechanism enabled, files to be deleted are marked with a special tag, but are not physically deleted. From the user's point of view, files are no longer visible inside the bucket, but the free disk space is not increased. As a consequence - although you will delete your backup data from the level of the GitProtect web panel, the space on your bucket will not be released.
If you do not want the data to be versioned, just you should just turn off the versioning option in the bucket settings.
You can also keep the versioning option while permanently deleting selected files.
The steps for permanently deleting files inside the bucket are described below, using the example of Amazon S3.
1. Sign in to the AWS Management Console and open the Amazon S3 console at https://console.aws.amazon.com/s3/.
2. Click to the name of the bucket that contains the object in the Buckets list.
3. Choose the name of the object in the Objects list.
4. Choose the Version button.
5. Select the version of the object.
6. Select the check box next to the Version ID for the versions that you want to permanently delete.
7. Choose the Delete button.
8. Enter text: permanently delete.
9. Confirm with clicking the Delete objects button.
10. Amazon S3 deletes the object version.