A project template is a set of projects which can be sent to any device user. Each project in the template must have indicated data for backup and a name given. You can also configure additional settings, such as schedule or advanced options. You can edit the project after sending it to a chosen device.
Please note that, the device to which a template will be sent, needs to have existing indicated data, otherwise, execution of the project will end with an error.
The Manage backup templates option is launched by clicking on the button highlighted in the screenshot above. A list of created templates will be displayed, and below a list of projects included in a chosen template.
In order to create a project template, press the Add backupsets template button, and in order to remove, mark a chosen template and click Remove selected template.
After clicking on Add backupsets template a Creating new backup template window will appear, in which you also have to specify the name of the template. Further backup configuration is related to a backup project which will be included in the created template.
Currently it is only possible to create local data backup projects. For each of the created projects, the user can define its name, set up a schedule, or choose the data he wants to backup.
In case of project templates, after choosing the Local option, the catalog paths from our computer will be displayed. If we do not want to use this option, we can type in a chosen path in the text field, and click Add
Another possibility is to employ pre-defined paths, which can be used on different operating systems. They refer to fixed system catalogs. Choosing this option is possible after clicking the Predefined button, and choosing an operating system (Windows XP or later).
In addition, it is possible to apply filters to a created project, applied to: files and folders, Windows permission settings according to which the project will be created, and the following advanced options:
- Without encryption - files included in the project will be sent to the Cloud unencrypted,
- Without compression - the files will not be compressed before delivery,
- File copies stored for: - specifying the number of versions created for a single file in the project. An alternative option is to specify the number of days to retain the backup version.
- Backup type - allows you to specify how the files should be sent, whether they are to be sent in a differential or incremental way, and which method will be used during this process.
After completing the configuration of the first backup within the template and the template name, you can save it by clicking the Save button, which is located in the lower right corner of the Create new backup template window.
Each template can consist of any number of projects created by the user. In order add a new project to the template, click on the button highlighted in the screenshot above.
After clicking on it, a window appears, the same as while creating a template, except that the name of the template is already defined, and editing it becomes impossible.
Sending a template to a client application
Sending a template to the client application is possible via the Devices tab, which can be accessed by clicking on the button marked in the screenshot below.
Next, you need to find the device to which you want to send a template on the list. By selecting a user, or a group from the tree on the left side of the application, we can view only the devices, which are assigned to the position chosen by us, for example, the devices of only one user.
There is a possibility of sending a template to multiple devices at the same time. To do this, select multiple devices from the device list by holding down the CTRL key.
Project templates can be sent only to devices which have remote management enabled, and are currently synchronized.
After selecting the devices to which you want to send a template, click the right mouse button on one of them and select Add backupsets template from the context menu, and finally select a desired template.
Clicking on the name of a template causes to send the template to specified devices, except situations the projects from the template already exist on your computer.