The Xopero application user can restore at any given moment data, which has been sent to the Xopero server disk as backup.
At the upper part of the Restoring tab there is a bar with three expandable lists:
- Computer -if the user has more than one devices within his Xopero account, here he can choose one of them, from which he wants data to be restored. It does not have to be the very same computer which the user it using at the moment.
- Backupset - the user can choose one of the former projects in order to see files contained therein.
- Version - in case none of the projects has been chosen, the user can display the state of storage at given date, while after choosing the project, he can display versions sent at the date of sending this backupset.
The user can also search for files, which he has sent, with a search engine located at the upper right side of the tab.
In order to restore data from the Xopero servers, you have to mark files and/or folders in the Restoring tab, then click the Restore selected button. File restore settings will be then displayed.
In the displayed window, choose a location for the restored data between original (from which the files were send) and chosen by the user. Additionally, you can choose operations that the application is supposed to carry out if there are files sharing the same name in the chosen localization. The application can overwrite files always or never if existing files are older. If you choose overwriting of files (Create a copy of overwritten files), a *.bak extension will be added to those files, and both files will be stored in the same location.
The process of data restoration in the worst case may need up to three times more disk space, than the largest file which has been selected for recovery. This case can occur only when restoring files sent using the Binary delta.
Restoring selected file versions
All sent files have their versions controlled, that is, the user can restore them in a version in which they were during one of the backups (not necessarily the last one), thanks to which you can recreate changes in the file.
In order to do that, enter the Restoring tab, right-click on a given file and choose the Show file versions option, which will display a list of backed up versions of the file.
After you choose a given version from the list, you have to click on Restore, which will cause file restore settings, to display (this is described at the beginning of this chapter).
Another way to download file versions is to choose the version for the full repository or a selected backupset.
In order to delete data you have to enter the Restoring tab and mark files and/or folders you want to delete from the Xopero server, and click on Delete at the bottom of the tab.
A warning about data deletion will be shown, you have to confirm it for selected data to be deleted irreversibly.
The user can also delete selected file versions. In order to do so, after displaying a list with file versions (it was described in the earlier chapter) and marking the selected version you have to click on Delete. This will cause only a version of the file to be deleted, not the whole file.
If you want to delete all the data sent by one user from all his devices, simply change the encryption key (Changing the encryption key).